MARRIAGE OFFICIATOR ONE-TIME OFFICIANT DESIGNATION



This application is for an individual who would like to be designated by the Washington County Clerk to *officiate a single marriage* ceremony within the State of Utah. The County Clerk is authorized to designate individuals who can solemnize a legal marriage for which a marriage license has been issued, pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 17-20-4. Applicants must provide a government issued photo ID acceptable to the County Clerk. <u>PLEASE NOTE: There is a \$10 fee associated with this application.</u>

DESIGNEE INFORMATION

Applicant's Last Name	First Name	Middle Name		Date of Birth	
Applicant's Mailing Address		City	State	Zip Code	
Applicant's Phone Number MARRIAGE INFORMATION (You are on		Applicant's Email Address			cribed below.)
	emony Location				,

Names of Individuals to be married:

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND INTENT

I request to be appointed as an official Designee of the Washington County Clerk-Auditor in order to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Utah per Utah Code Ann. § 17-20-4. I hereby witness and acknowledge that I will abide by the laws of the State of Utah in administering the duties of a Designee and agree to the responsibilities and requirements of a Designee by my initials at each statement:

I acknowledge that my appointment as a Designee does not make me an employee of the Washington County Clerk-Auditor's office, nor does it establish an employment, independent contractor, or contractual relationship with Washington County.

_____ I am 18 years of age or older.

I understand that my authority to perform marriage ceremonies extends only within the borders of the State of Utah, and that I am not authorized under Utah State Code to officiate in wedding ceremonies outside of the State of Utah.

I understand that my authority to perform marriage ceremonies is limited to only this marriage or date listed in the above section titled "Designee Information." Once this marriage is complete, or the date listed has passed, my authority will expire, and I will no longer be authorized as a Designee of the Washington County Clerk.

I agree to negotiate and manage any compensation for my services. I agree that I will establish a consistent fee schedule for any service I provide as a Designee, and that my fee schedule will not discriminate or provide preferential pricing on the basis of any characteristic protected under the law.

_____ I understand and agree to abide by the Utah State Code governing marriage, including the following provisions:

a. I will perform marriage ceremonies for which a legal marriage license certificate has been issued in the State of Utah. I will not refuse to officiate a marriage ceremony on the basis of any characteristic protected under the law.

b. A marriage license certificate is only valid within thirty-two (32) days of issuance. After thirty-two (32) days, if the license certificate is not used, the license must be returned and reissued.

c. A ceremony must have two witnesses (18 years of age or older) that are present to attest to the marriage. These witnesses must be someone other than the officiant and the couple, and the witnesses must sign the marriage license certificate.

d. I will ensure that the official marriage license certificate is filled out accurately and completely, including all necessary signatures. I will enter my title as "One-time Officiant" on the marriage license certificate. e. I will return the official license certificate to the issuing County Clerk's office within thirty (30) days of the ceremony. Failure to do so may result in my being charged with a crime under Utah Code Ann. § 30-1-11.

I will provide a marriage ceremony that affords each party the opportunity to affirm their willingness to enter into a marriage commitment. Note that the couple may provide their own wording, as long as it includes a statement of their voluntary entry into a marriage commitment with their spouse. A sample of such wording is as follows:

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 1), do you take (Spouse 2) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)? SPOUSE 1: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 2), do you take (Spouse 1) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)? SPOUSE 2: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)

DESIGNEE: By virtue of the authority vested in me through the laws of the State of Utah, I now pronounce you (Spouse 1) and (Spouse 2) legally married.

I agree and promise to indemnify and hold harmless Washington County, its officers, agents, officials, employees, and volunteers, and release them for and from any liability, costs or expenses arising from any action, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages, expenses, costs, fees, or compensation, whether or not said actions, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages, costs, fees, expenses and/or compensations are known or unknown, are in law or equity, and without limitation, all claims of relief which can be set forth through a complaint or otherwise that may arise out of the acts or omissions, negligent or otherwise, of the Designee, or marriage parties.

I acknowledge that my appointment as Designee may be terminated at any time by either party for no cause with 30 days written notice, or immediately if there is good reason to believe that I have violated any provision of the Utah State Code or policies of the Washington County Clerk-Auditor's Office.

_____ I agree to notify the Washington County Clerk-Auditor's office of any change in contact information during my term as a Designee.

Signature

Printed Name

Date

DESIGNATION BY THE WASHINGTON COUNTY CLERK

As granted in Utah Code Ann. § 17-20-4, the Washington County Clerk-Auditor, hereby names and appoints as an official Designee to perform the marriage described above in accordance with the Utah State Code. The authority to act as a **One-time** Officiant is limited to only the marriage listed above. This authority is automatically rescinded upon completion of the above listed marriage or at the marriage date listed, whichever is later.