WASHINGTON COUNTY CLERK-AUDITOR
111 EAST TABERNACLE ST. MARRIAGE OFFICIATOR /"-—@R\

ST. GEORGE, UT 84770 - .
PHONE: (435) 301-7220 DESIGNATION WASHINGTON COUNTY
FAX: (435) 301-7249 L e :

This application is for an individual who would like to be designated by the by the Washington County Clerk-Auditor to officiate
marriage ceremonies for ONE YEAR, for the general public. Applicants must be available locally, during the normal business hours
of the County Clerk, to perform marriage ceremonies. Applicants must present proof of Utah Residency in the form of a Utah State
issued ID card or Driver’s License, or other proof acceptable to the County Clerk. PLEASE NOTE: There is a $20 fee associated
with this application. A renewal application and $20 fee will be required each year, if you wish to continue as an official
Designee.

DESIGNEE INFORMATION

1.

Last Name First Name Middle Name Date of Birth
2 3.

Phone Number Email Address
4,

Mailing Address City & State Zip Code

5. Public Contact Information. (Your name and Public Contact Information will be made publicly available. You must include at least
one, and may list all that apply.)

a. Phone Number:

b. Email Address:

c. Web Address:

d. Languages (Specify):

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND INTENT

I request to be appointed an official Designee of the Washington County Clerk-Auditor in order to perform marriage ceremonies in the
State of Utah in accordance with Utah Code Ann. § 17-20-4. | hereby witness and acknowledge that | will abide by the laws of the
State of Utah in administering the duties of a Designee and agree to the responsibilities and requirements of a Designee, including:

1. I acknowledge that my appointment as a Designee does not make me an employee or establish any independent
contractor or contractual relationship with Washington County. INITIAL HERE

2. 1 am 18 years of age or older. INITIAL HERE

3. | understand that my authority to perform a marriage ceremony is limited to the borders of the State of Utah, and that |
am not authorized under Utah State Code to officiate in wedding ceremonies outside of the State of Utah. INITIAL HERE

4. With a minimum of 5 days’ advance notice, minus any personal scheduling conflicts, I agree to perform any marriage ceremony,
for any couple, that has legally obtained a marriage license within the State of Utah. INITIAL HERE

5. | agree to be reasonably available to perform wedding ceremonies during the normal business hours of the Washington County
Clerk-Auditor. At my discretion, | may also perform wedding ceremonies outside of the normal business hours of the Clerk-Auditor’s
office. INITIAL HERE



6. | agree to negotiate and manage my compensation for my services. | agree that | will establish a consistent fee schedule for any
service | provide as a Designee, and that my fee schedule will not discriminate or provide preferential pricing on the basis of any
characteristic protected under law. INITIAL HERE

7. lunderstand and agree to abide by Utah State Code governing marriage, including the following provisions:

a. | will perform a marriage ceremony for which a legal marriage license certificate has been issued in the State of
Utah. I will not refuse to officiate a marriage ceremony on the basis of any characteristic protected under law.

b. A marriage license certificate is only valid within thirty-two (32) days of issuance. After thirty-two (32) days, the
license certificate must be returned and reissued.

c. A ceremony must have two witnesses (18 years of age or older) that are present to attest to the marriage. These
witnesses must be someone other than the officiant and couple, and the witnesses must sign the marriage license
certificate.

d. I'will ensure that the official marriage license certificate is filled out accurately and completely, including all
necessary signatures.

e. | will return the official license certificate to the issuing County Clerk’s office within 30 days of the ceremony.
Failure to do so may result in my being charged with a crime under Utah Code Ann. § 30-1-11.

INITIAL HERE

8. 1 will provide a marriage ceremony that affords each party the opportunity to affirm their willingness to enter into a marriage
commitment. Note that the couple may provide their own wording, as long as it includes a statement of their voluntary entry into a
marriage commitment with their spouse. A sample of such wording is as follows: INITIAL HERE

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 1), do you take (Spouse 2) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?

SPOUSE 1: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)

DESIGNEE: (Spouse 2), do you take (Spouse 1) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?

SPOUSE 2: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)

DESIGNEE: By virtue of the authority vested in me through the laws of the State of Utah, | now pronounce you (Spouse 1)
and (Spouse 2) legally married.

9. I agree and promise to indemnify and hold harmless Washington County, its officers, agents, officials, employees and volunteers,
and release them for and from any liability, costs or expenses arising from any action, causes of action, claims for relief, demands,
damages, expenses, costs, fees or compensation, whether or not said actions, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages,
costs, fees, expenses and/or compensations are known or unknown, are in law or equity, and without limitation, all claims of relief
which can be set forth through a complaint or otherwise that may arise out of the acts or omissions, negligent or otherwise of the
Designee, or marriage parties. INITIAL HERE

10. I acknowledge that my appointment as a Designee may be terminated at any time and for any reason with 30 days written notice,
or immediately if there is good reason to believe that | have violated any provision of the Utah State Code or policies of the
Washington County Clerk-Auditor’s Office. INITIAL HERE

11. | agree to notify the Washington County Clerk-Auditor’s office of any change in contact information during my term as a
Designee. INITIAL HERE

Signature Printed Name Date

DESIGNATION BY THE WASHINGTON COUNTY CLERK-AUDITOR
As granted in Utah Code Ann. § 17-20-4, the Washington County Clerk-Auditor hereby names and appoints:

as an official Designee to perform marriages in the State
of Utah. The authority to act as my Designee is limited to a specific term of ONE YEAR, or if rescinded by the Washington County
Clerk-Auditor, or until the resignation of the Designee.

Washington County Clerk/or Deputy Clerk Date



