

ERIC CLARKE | WASHINGTON COUNTY ATTORNEY TELEPHONE: 435-634-5723 33 NORTH 100 WEST | SUITE 200 | ST. GEORGE, UTAH 84770 WWW.WASHCO.UTAH.GOV/DEPARTMENTS/ATTORNEY



June 21, 2024

Aggravated Murder Charges Filed Following Alleged Double-Homicide in **Washington City**

St. George, Utah - This afternoon the Washington County Attorney's Office filed criminal charges against 28-year-old Mia Bailey ("Bailey") regarding the alleged murder of Joseph and Gail Bailey, Bailey's parents, on June 18th in Washington City.

Bailey is charged with nine first degree felonies and one third degree felony: two counts of Aggravated Murder, one count of Attempted Aggravated Murder, seven counts of Felony Discharge of a Firearm (six being first degree felonies and one a third-degree felony), and one count of Aggravated Burglary.

After a careful review of the alleged facts involved, the Office is not seeking the death penalty in this tragic case.

Because this case is ongoing, our office will not be making any additional statements to the media at this time. For further information, please refer to the Probable Cause Statement that was filed with Utah's Fifth District Court.

Press Information Officer:

Deputy County Attorney: Courtney Brinkerhoff Sinagra

(435) 301-7100 · courtney.sinagra@washco.utah.gov

Eric W. Clarke #13177 Washington County Attorney 33 North 100 West #200 St. George, Utah 84770 (435) 301-7100

FIFTH DISTRICT COURT WASHINGTON COUNTY, STATE OF UTAH

STATE OF UTAH, Plaintiff,	INFORMATION
vs. MIA BAILEY, DOB: 10/02/95 Defendant.	Criminal No. OTN/Citation #: 66791963 Judge

The undersigned has reason to believe that the Defendant committed the following offense(s):

COUNT 1: AGGRAVATED MURDER (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (G.B.), a First Degree Felony, in that the defendant intentionally or knowingly caused the death of another under any of the following circumstances:

- (a) the homicide was committed incident to one act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which two or more individuals other than the actor were killed, or during which the actor attempted to kill one or more persons in addition to the deceased individual;
- (b) the actor knowingly created a great risk of death to another individual other than the deceased individual and the actor; or
- (c) the homicide was committed incident to an act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which the actor committed or attempted to commit aggravated burglary or burglary;

in violation of Section 76-5-202, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

NOTICE: The State is not seeking capital punishment. Accordingly, aggravated murder is not a capital felony. Aggravated murder is punishable by an indeterminate prison term of not less than 25 years and which may be for life, or life in prison without parole, in accordance with Section 76-3-207.7, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Imprisonment is mandatory in accordance with Section 76-3-406, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

NOTICE: Section 76-3-406, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended, applies to the sentencing on this charge.

COUNT 2: AGGRAVATED MURDER (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (J.B.), a First Degree Felony, in that the defendant intentionally or knowingly caused the death of another under any of the following circumstances:

- (a) the homicide was committed incident to one act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which two or more individuals other than the actor were killed, or during which the actor attempted to kill one or more persons in addition to the deceased individual;
- (b) the actor knowingly created a great risk of death to another individual other than the deceased individual and the actor; or
- (c) the homicide was committed incident to an act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which the actor committed or attempted to commit aggravated burglary or burglary;

in violation of Section 76-5-202, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

NOTICE: The State is not seeking capital punishment. Accordingly, aggravated murder is not a capital felony. Aggravated murder is punishable by an indeterminate prison term of not less than 25 years and which may be for life, or life in prison without parole, in accordance with Section 76-3-207.7, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Imprisonment is mandatory in accordance with Section 76-3-406, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

NOTICE: Section 76-3-406, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended, applies to the sentencing on this charge.

COUNT 3: ATTEMPTED AGGRAVATED MURDER (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (C.B.), a First Degree Felony, in that the defendant intentionally or knowingly attempted to cause the death of another under any of the following circumstances:

- (a) the homicide was committed incident to one act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which two or more individuals other than the actor were killed, or during which the actor attempted to kill one or more persons in addition to the deceased individual;
- (b) the actor knowingly created a great risk of death to another individual other than the deceased individual and the actor; or
- (c) the homicide was committed incident to an act, scheme, course of conduct, or criminal episode during which the actor committed or attempted to commit aggravated burglary or burglary;

in violation of Sections 76-5-202 and 76-4-101, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

COUNT 4: AGGRAVATED BURGLARY (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE), a First Degree Felony, in that the defendant entered or remained unlawfully in a building or any portion of a building with intent to commit a felony or theft or commit an assault on any person, and while attempting, committing, or fleeing from the burglary, the defendant, or another participant in the crime, caused bodily injury to a person who was not a participant in the crime; or used or threatened the immediate use of a dangerous weapon against any person who was not a participant in the crime; or possessed or attempted to use an explosive or dangerous weapon, in violation of 76-6-202 and 76-6-203, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

COUNT 5: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (G.B. – 1st Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 6: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (G.B. – 2nd Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 7: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (G.B. – 3rd Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 8: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (G.B. – 4th Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 9: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (J.B. – 1st Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony

punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 10: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (J.B. – 2nd Round), a First Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; and the discharge of the firearm caused serious bodily injury to any person, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(3) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended. Felony Discharge of a Firearm (Domestic Violence) is a 1st degree felony punishable by imprisonment for an indeterminate term of not less than five years and which may be for life.

COUNT 11: FELONY DISCHARGE OF A FIREARM (DOMESTIC VIOLENCE) (C.B.), a Third Degree Felony, in that the Defendant discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or persons, knowing or having reason to believe that any person may be endangered by the discharge of the firearm; or with intent to intimidate or harass another or with intent to damage a habitable structure as defined in Section 76-6-101, discharged a firearm in the direction of any person or habitable structure; or with intent to intimidate or harass another, discharged a firearm in the direction of any vehicle, in violation of Section 76-10-508.1(1) Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended and such acts constitute "domestic violence" as defined in Section 77-36-1, Utah Code Annotated, 1953, as amended.

PLACE: Washington County, State of Utah

DATE: On or about June 19, 2024

Authorized for presentment and filing this 21st day of June, 2024 WASHINGTON COUNTY ATTORNEY'S OFFICE

/s/ Lane R. Wood LANE R. WOOD

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO DISCOVERY: Under rule 16 of the Utah Rules of Criminal Procedure a defendant has the right to inspect, test, and copy material and information directly related to the case of which the prosecutor team has knowledge and control. If you would like to do so, please contact our office at the number above.