WASHINGTON COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, WASHINGTON COUNTY, UTAH

NOTIFICATION OF ENHANCEMENT – DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

			ENT - DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Defendant:		, Case No.	
Offense more serious by r Utah State Law regarding	raising the classification of g enhancement and the min s the specific elements of you uences.	that offense. nimum/maxin our current ch	conviction may be used to make a later Domestic Violence This form provides notification of the <u>current</u> provisions of num penalties applicable to the different classifications of larges, and the restriction on firearms. It does <u>not</u> notify you <u>DELEMENTS</u>
threat of violence or physic physical harm, when common commission or attempt to commission or a	cal harm, or any attempt, connitted by one cohabitant againment; any of the following ment; electronic communications alking; unlawful detention, se against property (describe arm from a vehicle, near a highisorderly conduct is the result or child abuse. (Statutory rejected)	spiracy, or sol nst another. "I offenses by or ion harassmen or unlawful d d in Title 76, O ghway, or in the alt of a plea ag ferences for the	eans any criminal offense involving violence or physical harm of icitation to commit a criminal offense involving violence or comestic violence" or "domestic violence offense" also means the cohabitant against another: aggravated assault; assault; the kidnapping, child kidnapping, or aggravated kidnapping; the tention of a minor; violation of a protective order or ex parte Chapter 6, Part 1-3); possession of deadly weapon with intent to the direction of any person, building, or vehicle; disorderly rement in which the defendant was originally charged with a telephone offenses are listed in this statute. The elements of the domestic violence offense are addressed on the back of this
other party; (b) is or was live one or more children in cor- resided in the same residen	ving as if a spouse of the oth mmon with the other party; (one as the other party. "Coha"	er party; (c) is e) is the biolog bitant" does no	ed or 16 years of age or older who: (a) is or was a spouse of the related by blood or marriage to the other party; (d) has or had gical parent of the other party's unborn child; or (f) resides or has ot include: (a) the relationship of a natural, adoptive, or stepep, or foster siblings who are under 18 years of age.
	ENHANCEM	IENT/FIREA	RMS RESTRICTION
district, possession, or terri within a five-year period at offense charged and the pur otherwise provided in the s enhanced to a class B misd misdemeanor would be enh	tory of the United States, of feer the conviction commits of this mishment for that subsequent tatutes described in Section a class B misdement anced to a 3 rd degree felony. Which is held in abeyance is of	an offense that or is convicted to offense is enl 77-36-1. ("Ereanor would be at) For purpose	offense in Utah, or is convicted in any other state, or in any to would be a domestic violence offense under Utah law, and of a domestic violence offense that is a misdemeanor, the hanced by one degree above the offense and punishment thanced by one degree" means a class C misdemeanor would be the enhanced to a class A misdemeanor; and a class A as of this section, a plea of guilty or no contest to any domestic onviction, even if the charge has been subsequently reduced or
			or guilty and mentally ill to a misdemeanor crime of domestic possess, receive or transport any firearm or ammunition.
PENALTIES PENALTIES			
Class B Misdemeanor: Class A Misdemeanor:	O days to 90 days jail O days to 6 months in jail O days to 1 year in jail O days to 5 years in prison	AND/OR AND/OR AND/OR AND/OR	\$0 to \$1,475 in fines and surcharges (plus interest) \$0 to \$1,950 in fines and surcharges (plus interest) \$0 to \$4,793 in fines and surcharges (plus interest) \$0 to \$9,543 in fines and surcharges (plus interest)
	ssess against the defendant, a tim or the defendant by the I		any costs for services or treatment provided to the victim and ild and Family Services.
I understand this Notificati	on of Enhancement as expla	ined here and	as orally explained to me.

(Date) _____ (Defendant's signature)

Form dated 5/12/2015

ELEMENTS ("Domestic Violence Offenses")

[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Assault</u> 76-5-102: A person commits this offense if the person (a) attempts, with unlawful force or violence, to do bodily injury to another; or (b) commits an act with unlawful force or violence, that causes bodily injury to another or creates a substantial risk of bodily injury to another.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief</u> 76-6-106: A person commits this offense if the person (a) intentionally and unlawfully tampers with the property of another and as a result recklessly endangers human health or safety; <u>or</u> (b) intentionally damages, defaces, or destroys the property of another, if the actor's conduct causes or is intended to cause pecuniary loss of less than \$500 in value; <u>or</u> (c) recklessly or willfully shoots or propels a missile or other object at or against a motor vehicle, bus, airplane, boat, locomotive, train, railway car, or caboose, whether moving or standing, if the actor's conduct causes or is intended to cause pecuniary loss of less than \$500 in value.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Commission of Domestic Violence in the Presence of a Child (Child Abuse)</u> 76-5-109.1: A person commits this offense if the person commits an act of domestic violence in the presence of a child.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Damage to or Interruption of a Communication Device</u> 76-6-108: A person commits this offense if the actor attempts to prohibit or interrupt, or prohibits or interrupts, another person's use of a communication device when the other person is attempting to or has communicated a desire to summon emergency aid, and in the process the actor: (a) uses force, intimidation, or any other form of violence; (b) destroys, disables, or damages a communication device; or (c) commits any other act in an attempt to prohibit or interrupt the person's use of a communication device to summon emergency aid.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Harassment</u> 76-5-106: A person commits this offense if, with intent to frighten or harass another, the person communicates a written or recorded threat to commit any violent felony.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Unlawful Detention</u> 76-5-304: A person commits this offense if the actor intentionally or knowingly, without authority of law, and against the will of the victim, detains or restrains the victim, under circumstances not constituting kidnapping, child kidnapping or aggravated kidnapping.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Criminal Trespass</u> 76-6-206: A person commits this offense if: (a) the person enters or remains unlawfully on property and (i) intends to cause annoyance or injury to any person or damage to any property, including the use of graffiti as defined in Section 76-6-107; (ii) intends to commit any crime, other than theft or a felony; or (iii) is reckless as to whether his presence will cause fear for the safety of another; (b) knowing the person's entry or presence is unlawful, the person enters or remains on property as to which notice against entering is given by: (i) personal communication to the actor by the owner or someone with apparent authority to act for the owner; (ii) fencing or other enclosure obviously designed to exclude intruders; or (iii) posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders; or (c) the person enters a condominium unit in violation of Subsection 57-8-7(8).
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Unlawful Firearm Discharge</u> 76-10-508: A person commits this offense if the person discharges any kind of dangerous weapon or firearm: (i) from an automobile or other vehicle; (ii) from, upon, or across any highway; (iii) at any road signs placed upon any highways of the state; (iv) at any communications equipment or property of public utilities including facilities, lines, poles, or devices of transmission or distribution; (v) at railroad equipment or facilities including any sign or signal; (vi) within Utah State Park buildings, designated camp or picnic sites overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps, and developed beaches; or (vii) without written permission to discharge the dangerous weapon from the owner or person in charge of the property within 600 feet of: (A) a house, dwelling, or any other building; or (B) any structure in which a domestic animal is kept or fed, including a barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding pen, or stockyard.
[] <u>Class-C-Misdemeanor Disorderly Conduct</u> 76-9-102: A person is guilty of disorderly conduct if the person (a) refuses to comply with the lawful order of a law enforcement officer to move from a public place, or knowingly creating a hazardous or physically offensive condition, by any act which serves no legitimate purpose; <u>or</u> (b) intending to cause public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof, the person: (i) engages in fighting or in violent, tumultuous, or threatening behavior; (ii) makes unreasonable noises in a private place which can be heard in a public place; or (iv) obstructs vehicular / pedestrian traffic. Disorderly Conduct involves Domestic Violence if such conviction is the result of a plea agreement in which you were originally charged with any of the domestic violence offenses described herein.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Sodomy</u> 76-5-403: A person commits this offense when the person engages in any sexual act with a person who is 14 years of age or older involving the genitals of one person and the mouth or anus of another.
[] <u>Class-B-Misdemeanor Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor</u> 76-5-401: A person commits this offense if the actor: (a) has sexual intercourse with the minor; (b) engages in any sexual act with the minor involving the genitals of one person and the mouth or anus of another person, regardless of the sex of either participant; (c) causes the penetration, however slight, of the genital or anal opening of the minor by any foreign object, substance, instrument or device, including a part of the human body, with the intent to cause substantial emotional or bodily pain to any person or with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person, regardless of the sex of any participant.
[] Attempt 76-4-101: A person is guilty of an attempt to commit a crime if he engages in conduct constituting a substantial step toward commission of the crime; and (a) intends to commit the crime, or (b) when causing a particular result is an element of the crime, he acts with an awareness that his conduct is reasonably certain to cause that result. An attempted class B misdemeanor offense is a class C misdemeanor. An attempted class A misdemeanor offense is a class B misdemeanor.