WASHINGTON COUNTY JUSTICE COURT, WASHINGTON COUNTY, UTAH

NOTIFICATION OF ENHANCEMENT – OPERATING VEHICLE WITHOUT INSURANCE, NO PROOF OF INSURANCE

Defendant:	, Case No.:
minimum, mandatory fines for	of an Insurance Offense as described below, this conviction may result in increased refuture offenses. This form provides notification of the <u>current</u> provisions of Utah State imum penalties. It also describes the elements of your current charges. It does <u>not</u> notify iences.
	<u>ELEMENTS</u>
(insurance) is required who open is guilty of a class C misdemean knowledge that the owner does in	vithout Insurance: Any owner of a motor vehicle on which owner's or operator's security rates his or her vehicle or permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without insurance or. Any other person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway in Utah with the not have insurance in effect for the motor vehicle is guilty of a class C misdemeanor, unless that registered motor vehicle or its equivalent that covers the operation, by the person, of the motor
off-highway vehicles wimplements of husbands Section 41-6a-102; (d) n	Owner's or operator's security is not required for any of the following: (a) properly-registered hen operated on legally-designated roads or in a legally-designated manner; (b) off-highway ry operated in a legally-designated manner; (c) electric-assisted bicycles, as defined under notor-assisted scooters, as defined under Section 41-6a-102; and (e) electric personal assistive fined under Section 41-6a-102.
41-12a-303.2(2) No Proof of Insurance: A person operating a motor vehicle shall: (A) have in the person's immediate possession evidence of owner's or operator's security for the motor vehicle the person is operating; and (B) display it upon demand of a peace officer. 41-12a-303.2(5): A violation of this section is an infraction.	
	(a)(ii): A person is exempt from the requirements of Subsection (2)(a)(i) if the person is ament-owned or leased motor vehicle; or (B) an employer-owned or leased motor vehicle and is oyer's permission.
	It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this section that the person had owner's or fect for the vehicle the person was operating at the time of the person's citation or arrest.
NOTE: 41-12a-604: For a conviction of Operating a Vehicle without Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, the defendant's operator's license shall be suspended by the Department of Public Safety.	
	ENHANCEMENT / PENALTIES
fine shall be not less than: (a) \$ a previous conviction or bail for <i>imposition of a fine in the amount</i>	2(5): For a conviction of Operating a Vehicle Without Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, the 400 for a first offense; and (b) \$1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of feiture. (Although the current statutory language requires a minimum \$1000 fine, the unt of \$1000 exceeds the maximum fine allowable for its new classification as a Class Cine/Bail Schedule currently recommends a \$750 fine for a 2 nd or subsequent offense.)
Minimum/Maximum Sentence	
Infraction: Class C Misdemeanor:	0 days jail; minimum amount listed above to \$750.00 fine plus interest 0 days to 90 days jail; minimum amount listed above to \$750.00 fine, plus interest
I understand the foregoing Notification of Enhancement as explained here and as orally explained to me.	
(Date)	(Defendant's signature)