Category Archives: Things To Do

Washington County of Utah

Tell Bureau of Land Management You Support the Northern Corridor

Telling the Bureau of Land Management you support the Northern Corridor is now faster and easier than ever with our new public comment form! Just click the link to leave a comment! You can use our pre-created template or write one of your own.

Click here to leave a comment

Traffic modeling shows that without the Northern Corridor, over the next 20 years, drive times could double and more than 60 existing intersections would “fail” during busy times of the day. Transportation engineers have been adamant for nearly 30 years that the road, which would connect Interstate 15 to State Route 18 via Washington Parkway and Red Hills Parkway, must be built. The Roadway would accommodate anticipated traffic demand and would reduce traffic delays by 300,000 hours per year beyond 2040.

Washington County Fair logo

2020 Washington County Fair from August 4th to 8th

Washington County Fair begins today at 7:00 pm with a Parade at Washington City Community Center (Google Maps).

Come and watch as the Grand Marshall, County Royalty and City Princesses usher in a myriad of floats, marching bands, horses and more! Spectator involvement might get you a demolition derby ticket or other prizes and a lot of fun!

Followed by a Fair Kickoff Party at Veterans Park (Google Maps). Free inflatables, giveaways, treats, and music!

Fairgrounds, Exhibits and Carnival open:

  • Wednesday, August 5th, at 6:00 pm
  • Thursday, August 6th, at 12:00 pm
  • Friday, August 7th, at 12:00 pm
  • Saturday, August 8th, at 12:00 pm

See you at the Fair!

Washington County Tax Districts

Appeal Your Market Value 2020

Click here to Appeal Your Market Value

The Notice of Property Valuation and Tax Changes is mailed annually to all property owners in Washington County and indicates the current real property market value, estimated taxes, and tax entities’ hearing schedules. (If a tax increase is proposed by a taxing entity, a date and time will be shown.)

This document is extremely important and provides taxpayers with a yearly accounting of their current market value, property classification and instructions for appealing market value to the Board of Equalization.

State of Utah’s New Release about Property Valuations After Covid-19

Moving to Yellow or Low-Risk Phase

Washington County has moved to the “Yellow or Low-Risk Phase”

Washington County has moved to the “Yellow or Low-Risk Phase”. Here’s a quick summary of what that means:

  • Groups of 50 now allowed
  • Playgrounds will open up with 6ft distancing
  • Close contact and team sports changed to allowed with caution
  • Recreation camps opened
  • Pools now open with 6ft distancing
  • Gyms open with the requirement that staff disinfects the equipment removed

Learn more:

Download Utah State Approval Letter

Commercial Rent Assistance Program

Commercial Rental Assistance Program Application

Attention Business Owners!

New & urgent: Commercial Rental Assistance Program Application will be opening on Monday, May 11 at 9am. It will be first-come, first-serve!

There has been $40 million allocated to help Utah small businesses that rent commercial property receive pandemic relief from the Legislature and the Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED).

To be eligible for the Commercial Rental Assistance Program, applicants must:

  • Have a current lease on commercial property in the state of Utah
  • Claim Utah as their principal place of business
  • Be in operation with fewer than 100 employees on Feb. 15, 2020
  • Demonstrate at least a 50% loss of gross monthly revenue after March 1, 2020, as a direct result of the COVID-19 pandemic
  • Not received funds from the COVID-19 Agricultural Operations Grant Program (funded with federal CARES Act monies)

Tag a business owner who could benefit and learn more at:

Washington County of Utah

2020 Tax Sale

Notice is hereby given that on May 28, 2020, at 10:00 AM, Kim Hafen, Clerk-Auditor, will offer for sale (unless redeemed prior to sale) at public auction, pursuant to the provisions of section 59-2-1351 Utah Code, the described real estate situated in said county and now held by it under preliminary tax sale. This sale will be located in:

Washington County Administration Building
197 East Tabernacle
St George, Utah
(Google Maps)

Auctions will be by open bidding wherein the full parcel will be sold to the highest dollar bidder.

Tax Sale — Full List & Details

Published in the Spectrum
May 3, 10, 17, & 24, 2020

Great Utah Shakeout logo

Washington County Great Utah Shake Out Exercise

Yesterday, April 16th was recognized as the Great Utah Shakeout day where government entities and other organizations around the state participate in Earthquake drills. As we remember the recent earthquake up north, and as we recognize that we have several earthquake faults in the Washington County area, we feel that it is appropriate to be prepared for that possibility in our area.

At 10:00 am yesterday, the Washington County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) participated in an exercise for the Great Utah Shakeout. Coordinating with emergency responders and other local agencies, the county walked through what-if scenarios that aided in planning and preparing for the possibility of an earthquake.

Commenting on the preparation efforts, Commissioner Gil Almquist stated, “We know earthquakes aren’t a matter of if, but when. Preparing for a crisis well in advance is how we do things in Washington County.”

We encourage everyone to take a minute to #BeReadyUtah, and review the states resources at: We also encourage everyone to know how to respond in the event of an earthquake, especially reviewing the drop, cover, and hold on safety practices:

Be ready, stay safe, and stay connected with our Washington County EOC Facebook page for the best information in the event of an emergency.

Library System, Washington County of Utah

Library System Offers New Curbside Pickup Service

Washington County Library System today announced that it will offer curbside pickup services to the patrons at all eight library branch locations beginning on Monday, April 20, 2020. “Our libraries form an integral cornerstone in the structure of our community. Working with the Library Board, the county is now able to safely begin the phasing in of essential library services to the public,” explained Commissioner Dean Cox. Curbside service will be available at each location. For times, please call your closest library branch. Curbside Service allows customers to pick up library materials that have been placed on hold. Washington County has coordinated with our Public Health Officer on curbside services as well as the procedures. Social distancing is still recommended in order to effectively serve library customers and adhere to public health guidelines. For a list branch numbers and hours of operation, please visit:

Curbside Pickup provides increased access to our library resources during the COVID-19 closure. As we continue to put our patrons at the heart of everything we do, we strive to offer services that are adapted to this unprecedented time. Curbside pickup will allow patrons to access physical items in addition to taking advantage of the outstanding online service provided. We hope that access to these great reading and movie materials will help alleviate some of the disruption to everyday life that has occurred as a result of the pandemic.

Curbside Pickup: How it Works

  1. Place items on hold using the Library website catalog, or call in if you know what you are interested in. Identify your preferred library pickup location: St. George, Washington, Santa Clara, Hurricane, Enterprise, New Harmony, Hildale or Springdale.
  2. Wait for email or text notice that your hold items are ready.
  3. Request Curbside Service by calling your pickup branch.
  4. Library staff will prepare your items for pickup.
  5. Staff will contact you when your items are checked out and ready for you to pick up. Items must be picked up that day or scheduled appropriately.
  6. Go to the Library’s designated Curbside pickup branch. This will be marked by signage at each location.
  7. Holds will be delivered to the cardholder once name verification has occurred.
  8. When you arrive at the Library’s pickup location, call the number listed on the sign for further instructions. Pickup locations for curbside service will be clearly marked and patrons and staff should strive to comply with social distancing recommendations.
  9. Wait for delivery of materials. If your vehicle is equipped with automatic doors, please open them upon arrival.

Possible Questions:

How many items can I pick up using Curbside Service?
Adults can place up to 20 items on hold, children up to 10, though not all materials may be ready for delivery at the same time. If something is already checked out to someone else, or if the items need to be delivered from another branch, there may be a delay in accessing some of those materials.

Will I lose my HOLD items if I do not pick up during the closure?
We have extended out holds until April 28th. That will be the first time holds not picked up will be made available to the next interested patron. After that, holds will be kept for seven days as normal.

How do I return library materials?
You may return your library materials using the exterior book drops at all locations. Please do not return items directly to staff as we are enacting a quarantine protocol for all returned items.

Can I wait until the library fully opens to return my materials?
In response to COVID-19, the library temporarily suspended its fine process. The goal over the last 6 weeks was to support our patrons through these difficult times. However, as we institute curbside checkout, other people could be waiting for the requested materials. To encourage patrons to return borrowed materials for the next person on the hold list the normal return process will be implemented. A grace period of 2 weeks will be allotted, extending the checkout period of all materials until May 3rd. After that grace period, items should be returned or renewed. Items not returned will be assessed their normal fine rate, which is 10 cents a day in most cases.

Are there any library resources I can use while branches are closed?
Yes. The library provides a wide array of digital offerings, including e-books, audiobooks, magazines, and streaming movies through our electronic resources on our website. Manage your account online – search the catalog, place holds, and renew items – at

Our Mission — The Washington County Library System provides staff, collections, physical and virtual spaces that promote ideas, inspire lifelong learning, and strengthen communities. We look forward to offering those physical spaces again in the future, but for now, are pleased to reconnect with you via these modified services.